League of American Bicyclists Announces New Bicycle Friendly Universities

Washington, D.C. — On November 5, the League of American Bicyclists announced 49 new and renewing Bicycle Friendly Universities (BFU), bringing the total to 127 BFUs in 42 states. This year, the number of universities achieving the highest distinction grew to five, with three schools rising to Platinum status: the University of Minnesota, Portland State University and Colorado State University. Stanford became the first BFU to renew its Platinum status.

Twenty-five of the 49 schools involved this year are new additions to the BFU list, from Vanderbilt in Nashville, to Texas A&M in College Station, to Arizona State’s downtown campus in Phoenix.

“Colorado State University and the Campus Bicycle Advisory Committee are beyond proud to receive the Platinum designation,” said Aaron Fodge, Colorado State’s Alternative Transportation Manager. “Our 2011 Silver designation and subsequent guidance from the League set in motion a grassroots effort across campus to integrate the bicycle into every facet of our campus culture. Our employees and students followed the League’s blueprint to preserve future bicycle corridors, enhance our enforcement, significantly expand our bike parking, and dedicate a strong commitment to data-driven decision making. The culmination of these efforts led to a new transportation division, a bike master plan, and a dedicated annual budget from parking revenue with Platinum as our goal. Platinum for CSU validates the ongoing commitment of our daily bicycle commuters and our strong relationship with our host community – Fort Collins.”

The League’s Bicycle Friendly America program provides a roadmap, hands-on assistance and recognition for states, communities, universities and businesses. The BFA℠ program is a tool for states, communities, business and universities to make bicycling a real transportation and recreation option for all people.


Back to Top